Egi Cuttle fish and Squid on a Lure

I had been having problems landing cuttle fish recently, I went into the Art of fishing to get me a slightly heaver Squid Jig. Jo Pointed me over to the fish League Squid jigs he lightest being 10g. Speaking to some people about squid jigs there seems to be a bit of confession  with the info on the box. mine states 2.5 but this is not the casting weight.

I pulled out the Nories Jighead snapper rock fish bottom, this is a solidtip jigging rod but also doubles up nicely for a LRF rod with a heap of power.

Mike Sullavan was already fishing and landing Squid & cuttle.

I decided to have a try for wee fish and first cast was rewarded with a decent smelt, second cast a Polock & third cast a Poor cod. The makings of a good night you would think???? sadly it wasn’t.

“When the Squid are on the go  the Fishing is Slow”

I switched over to my new Fish League jig and the takes began, but could I land them…… meanwhile Mike was swinging the cuttle about like an Olympic sport.

I decided to pull out the Majorcraft L600 six meter telescopic landing net, and with the help of Frankie my first Squid of the year was landed. Big un an all.

Nories Rockfish Bottom, jighead snapper

LRF Cuttle fish, plymouth. Sunline small game fluorocarbon

I eventually caught a cuttlle fish, my first ever!

Squiding in Plymouth, with the help of my Majorcraft landing net my First LRF Squid was landed. I was using a Nories Jighead Snapper and a fish league jig
Leave a Reply

