LRF Cyprus, little remaining fish or light rock fishing

So I like a holiday, especially if it has been planned around a bit of fishing. The trip to Cyprus was booked a week before we went so I had very little time to swat up on the area of Paphos . As it turned out I went to an aqua desert!!! beautiful clear waters, amazing reefs but no fish. It was a family holiday so I had no intentions of going out deep sea fishing but we did manage to get on a glass bottom boat. We floated over a spanish wreck but I only spotted about three fish about the size of our smelt???

Later we stopped near a reef so I took the opportunity to pull out my Graphiteleader compatto travel rod,  handy ehh!

I managed about four wee fish  no pics but they kind of looked like a smelt in colour but had more of a bronto/ dorado shape, only much smaller…… a size 10 fine shirasu ecogear jighead 2.5g with added split shot just to get down, loaded up with a green  aquagear strawtail grub.

Slightly disheartened I decided to put the five piece rod together again for a few hours before returning the wet UK. using the same egogear jig head with a tiny peice of power isome in pink I managed a few tiny black bream………….. I found out later the fresh water fishing is fantastic in a near by dam with Zander & largemouth bass on the list but like I said earlier  this was a family holiday….. Look how messed up the jig head is from all the attacks from the wee bream.

Look close enough at the ecogear shirasu fine jig head you can see the bite marks left from the aggressive little black bream from Cyprus.

LRF in Cyprus, if you are thinking about a fishing holiday in Paphos Cyprus I would urge you to think again unless you plan to go deepsea fishing or fancy a bit of fresh water on the near by dams.

Black bream caught on a slither of power isome in Cyprus

Leave a Reply

